Join Here

Join up to edit this article or to create one yourself. It takes just a moment and it's free

How to use this wiki site

Learn more about how this wiki works here.

Produced by



2.00 - 4.30pm.

Other times

by appointment.

Supported by


National Trust of South Australia


District Council of Grace

From Mallala
Jump to: navigation, search
Fast Facts
Type of organisation: Government

Town or locality: Hundred of Grace
Date established: 1874
Ceased operation: 1935
Business or purpose: Local Government Services
Loading map...

In April 1874 the District Council of Grace was proclaimed, comprising an area of approximately 55,000 acres. The first members of the Council were William Bartlett (Chairman), Samuel Chivell, George Marshman, J.S. Sutton and B. McHugh. Initially, Council meetings were held in the Mallala Hotel.

In 1878 Mr. George Marshman became Chairman and went on to serve the Council for 32 years, during which time he chaired the Council for 21 years.

In 1878 a single room Council Chamber was built on Owen Road . Thomas Griggs, the local builder contracted to erect the stone building for the sum of £276/16/0 and a further £9/8/0 for the supply of one cedar table,6 cedar chairs and 6 deal forms. In 1886 the district was divided into wards. In May 1935 the District of Grace was amalgamated with the Districts of Dublin and Port Gawler and was named the District Council of Light. This was not a popular name and in 1937 it was renamed the District Council of Mallala.

Related Articles

Council Map
Council Map
Council Chambers
Council Chambers
District of Grace Councillors 1935
District of Grace Councillors 1935
District Council of Light
District Council of Light

Memories of District Council of Grace

Do you remember District Council of Grace ? Then Join up and add your memory here.

Print Print    Subscribe by RSS Subscribe by RSS

Bookmark and Share